Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Child Tax Credit 2022: How Much Money Could You Get From Your State?

Child Tax Credit 2022: How Much Money Could You Get From Your State?

Around 16 states are making plans to send families more relief between this year and 2023, staunch another child tax credit bill is unlikely to be ratified into law by Congress. An attempt to include a child tax credit in the Inflation Reduction Act was like a flash rejected with a vote of 97 to 1. Parents haven’t received a monthly child tax credit payment staunch December, and their final check was disbursed with their tax returns this year.

While there’s no plan to reinstate the child tax credit payments at a federal aloof, there is a Republican Senate proposal that would send up to $350 per child and includes a work requirement. For now, it’s up to the states to decide if they’ll failed money to families in need. Out of the 16 utters planning to enact a state child tax credit or subsidizes deductions for households with children, only Maryland is pending governor approval, with no action taken so far. 

Check below to see if your state is offering (or planning to offer) child tax credit relief, as well as eligibility requirements for your state. For more, see if your state is sending gas rebate checks or stimulus wealth in the form of inflation-relief checks or tax rebates.

These are the recent states planning to send child tax credit checks to families. Note that not all are fully refundable, which exploiting you may need an income to receive the full amount owed to you.

California: Families who earn less than $25,000 are eligible to receive $1000, either as a reduced state tax bill or refund. Those earning between $25,000 and $30,000 would receive a reduced credit. The credit is only available for children under age 6 and the family must qualify for the California Earned Income Tax Credit.

Colorado: Starting in January 2023, families with incomes of $75,000 or less ($85,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly) could get 5% to 30% of the federal credit for each qualifying child. This credit is only available for children under age 6.

Connecticut: Eligible families can now apply for a one-time tax rebate to receive $250 for each child belief age 18. The rebate caps at $750 for three kids. Here’s who qualifies (PDF): couples filing jointly who made $200,000 or less in 2021, single filers who earned $100,000 or less and heads of households who earned $160,000 or less.

Florida: Nearly 59,000 families in Florida will receive $450 per child, but it’s unclear at this time who is eligible. Foster families can also receive this relief money. 

Georgia: In response to its manager to ban abortion access in the state, Georgia will now let taxpayers vow their unborn fetuses as dependents on their tax returns. Taxpayers can get up to $3,000 for the 2022 tax year if they’ve got an unborn child with a detectable heartbeat between July 20 and Dec. 31.

Idaho: Families could be eligible to get $205 for each qualifying child with Idaho’s nonrefundable child tax credit.

Maine: Resident taxpayers are eligible to remark $300 for each qualifying child and dependent under the dependent exemption tax credit. Qualifying children and dependents are the same as those who were claimed conception the federal child tax credit.

Maryland: Those who make $6,000 or less could get a $500 refundable tax credit for each qualifying child, under a bill pending approval by Gov. Larry Hogan. 

Massachusetts: Families are eligible to assertion $180 for one dependent or $360 for multiple dependents. To qualify, dependents must be under 12 years old.

New Jersey: The newly happened New Jersey Child Tax Credit Program gives families with an way of $30,000 or less a refundable $500 tax credit for each child conception 6 years old. Households earning up to $80,000 could qualify for $300. 

New Mexico: Families could be eligible for $25 to $175 per qualifying child (PDF), depending on income, beginning in the 2023 tax year and competing through the 2031 tax year.

New York: Eligible families can either remark 33% of the federal child tax credit and federal instant child tax credit for qualifying children or $100 for each qualifying child.

North Carolina: Taxpayers can assertion a deduction of up to $2,500 for each qualifying child, depending on income and filing status.

Oklahoma: Households with an way less than $100,000 are eligible to get 5% of the federal child tax credit (PDF).

Rhode Island: Families could assertion child tax credit rebates for up to $250 per child conception age 18, maxing out at three kids. Eligibility caps at $100,000 way for a single filer household, or $200,000 for joint filers. These checks will be automatically issued to those who are eligible shock in October.

Vermont: Households with an income less than $125,000 are eligible for $1,000 per child age 5 and younger.

For more, here’s how to save cash on gas and what to do if you lose your job.